Beethoven's First Piano Concerto

Featuring Sara Davis Buechner
Richardson Auditorium
Get Tickets! Tickets start at $35 (50% discount for children 5-17)

Lauded for her “intelligence, integrity and all- encompassing technical prowess” (New York Times) and “thoughtful artistry in the full service of music” (Washington Post), Sara Davis Buechner takes on Ludwig Van Beethoven's first piano concerto. John Luther Adams' Become River explores a river's progress, and Robert Schumann's restlessly romantic fourth symphony departs from classical form with a single movement.

"A formidable soloist, bringing depth, eloquence, and gleeful technical assurance." – San Francisco Chronicle

Due to the length and type of performance, this concert is not suitable for children under the age of 5.


John Luther ADAMS / Become River
Ludwig van BEETHOVEN / Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Op. 15
Robert SCHUMANN / Symphony No. 4 in D Minor, Op. 120 

Key Notes Musical notes

  • John Luther Adams won a Pulitzer prize for his large-scale 2014 work Become OceanBecome River is another of the works in his "Become" trilogy, along with Become Desert. Each work explores aspects of nature.
  • Beethoven wrote his Piano Concerto No. 1 after his second concerto, but published it first owing to his preference for it. 
  • Schumann took over ten years to publish his fourth symphony, doing so after significant revision. The original 1841 version still exists, but it is the more mature 1851 version that we know today.



Sara Davis Buechner performing Richard Strauss' Burleske:


And something a bit more sporty!:

More Performances

Ranaan Meyer, Nick Kendall & Charles Yang
Ranaan Meyer, Nick Kendall & Charles Yang
The Queen of Rock 'n' Roll!
Stay Up to Date: Sign up for email updates from the Princeton Symphony Orchestra and its flagship summer program the Princeton Festival.